Deputy Speaker

Under Article 178 of the Indian Constitution, the Legislative Assembly shall choose one of its members as Deputy Speaker. The date of holding the election to the office of the Deputy Speaker is fixed by the Speaker of the House. The procedure of the election of the Deputy Speaker is same as that of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker is elected from among the members of the Legislative Assembly. The Deputy Speaker occupies the first seat in the front row of the Block III of the Telangana Legislative Assembly.

In the absence of the Speaker or when the Office of the Speaker is vacant, the duties of the Speaker are performed by the Deputy Speaker. When the Deputy Speaker presides over a sitting of the Legislative Assembly, he has the same powers as the Speaker.

The Deputy Speaker holds office till the dissolution of the Legislative Assembly, unless he ceases to be a member of the Legislative Assembly for any reasons specified in Article 179 of the Indian Constitution.

Deputy Speaker - Smt. M. Padma Devender Reddy

Smt. M. Padma Devender Reddy was unanimously elected as Deputy Speaker on June 12, 2014. She was elected to the Legislative Assembly from Medak Constituency in 2014 General Elections. She was Member of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly from Ramayampet Constituency in Medak District in 2004. She served as whip of TRS party in the Assembly form 2004 – 2009.

She was born on January 6, 1969 at Rampur in Karimnagar District. She did B.A. and LL.B and practiced as advocate.

Smt. Padma Devender Reddy entered politics in 2001 and actively participated in the Telangana movement.  She was elected as ZPTC Member form Ramayampet to Medak Zilla Parishad in 2001 local body elections and served as floor leader of the TRS party.

She takes keen interest in social service and visiting historical places.

Honorable Dy.  Speaker Speech

Email :