About Assembly

The First Telangana Legislative Assembly was constituted on 2nd June, 2014 with 119 Elected Members after General Election held in the month of April, 2014. The Legislature is bicameral. The first meeting of the Assembly was held on 9th June, 2014.

Composition and Duration

The Legislative Assembly consists of 119 elected members and one member nominated by the Governor from among Anglo-Indian Community, under Article 333 of the Constitution of India. The duration of the Assembly is five years from the date appointed for its first meeting, unless sooner dissolved. The expiration of the said period of five years operates as dissolution of the House.

Functions of Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly has cardinal functions of Legislation, overseeing of administration, passing of budget, and ventilation of public grievances