Government Whips

A whip's role is also to ensure that the elected representatives of their party are in attendance when important votes are taken. Whips of political parties play a very important role. The efficient and smooth functioning of the legislative system depends to a considerable extent upon the office of the ‘Whips' who can be rightly said to be the managers of the parties within the legislatures.

Every political party that has its party members in the House of Legislature, appoints one or more of its members as Whip or Whips. The Whips supply their members with all important information and ensure the presence and participation of Members of their respective parties in the House, especially during important discussions and voting. They also interact with the Presiding Officers and the secretariat of the concerned House on behalf of their parties and Members to ensure efficient coordination vis-a-vis the complex requirements of Legislative procedures, practices and conventions.
The role of whips of various political parties and the Government Chief Whip is vital in the management of the Assembly Proceedings. The term Whip was defined by Shri Shivraj V. Patil former Speaker, Lok Sabha, as "the authority in the House who was expected to know the bend of minds of Members".

Government Whips

  1. Sri Gampa Govardhan                :    07.09.2019  to Till Date
  2. Smt. Gongidi Sunitha                  :    07.09.2019  to Till Date
  3. Sri Guvvala Balaraju                   :    07.09.2019  to Till Date
  4. Sri Kantha Rao Rega                  :    07.09.2019  to Till Date
  5. Sri Balka Suman                         :    07.09.2019  to Till Date
  6. Sri Arekapudi Gandhi                 :    07.09.2019   to Till Date

Former Government Whips

  1. Sri Gampa Govardhan               :    13.12.2014  to 06.09.2018
  2. Smt. Gongidi Sunitha                 :    13.12.2014  to 06.09.2018
  3. Sri Nallala Odelu                       :    13.12.2014  to 06.09.2018